Illinois Business Insurance
Information By County

Or call for your free quote:

Get the best IL small business insurance quotes online & info on cost, coverage, minimum requirements, certificates & more.

IL Counties Business Insurance Information

Illinois Business Insurance Information By County

Are you looking for business insurance information for a county in Illinois?

Business insurance requirements vary both by state, counties and cities and that state. For example - workers compensation is virtually required in every state, but there are different rules on what constitutes and employee, and how many employees are needed to mandate coverage.

Also Illinois counties, cities and municipalities might require specific coverages to do business in their jurisdiction. Below you will find every county in IL that you can use to start researching the business insurance policies, endorsements and limits that may be required.

Looking for Illinois business insurance information in a county? Find commercial insurance info - including costs, coverages and requirements - from all counties in IL.

Where Can I Find Business Insurance Information For Counties In Illinois?

Finding IL business insurance information by county is simple - just by searching our Illinois Directory of Counties - you can find the business insurance policy information you are looking for - including costs, coverages, minimum requirements and more.

Illinois Business Insurance Information Results By County:

Illinois - Small Business Insurance Information By County

How Are Illinois State, County And Municipal Governments Organized?


The entire area of the state of Illinois is encompassed by county governments. The county governing board is the county board, except in Cook County where the statutes identify the governing board as the Board of Commissioners of Cook County. Any county may establish a county executive form of government with or without home-rule as decided by referendum.


The subcounty general purpose governments in Illinois consist of municipal (city, village, and town) governments and township governments.

Municipal Governments

Municipal governments in Illinois are the cities, villages, and incorporated towns. There are no differences of legal powers or status that would affect their classification for U.S. Census Bureau statistics on governments.

The minimum population requirement for incorporation as a city is 2,500. For villages, the requirements for incorporation vary with the population of the county and other criteria. Municipalities having a population of 25,000 or more automatically become home-rule governments. Municipalities with populations of fewer than 25,000 have the option of selecting home rule by referendum.

In counties that have township governments, municipalities exist within those township areas, except for the city of Chicago.

Township Governments

Township governments exist in 84 of the 102 Illinois counties. Within these 84 counties, the only areas lacking township governments are the city of Chicago and the town of Cicero. For the town of Cicero, township and municipal functions are discharged by a single board of elected officials.

Some townships are coterminous or nearly coterminous with a city or village, but have their own elected officials. These township governments are counted as separate governments in Census Bureau statistics.

Although sometimes referred to locally as "towns," Illinois townships are not to be confused with incorporated towns. An elected township supervisor is the chief administrative officer.

Find more information on the state of Illinois website.

Note: Some of this info was provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration and the U.S. Census Bureau.

How Do I Contact The Illinois Insurance Commissioner?

320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767-0001
Phone: (217) 782-4515


Request a free County Illinois business insurance quote, or in these other IL counties: Adams, Alexander, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Cook, Crawford, Cumberland, De Witt, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Greene, Grundy, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Massac, McDonough, McHenry, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, Richland, Rock Island, Saline, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Union, Vermilion, Wabash, Warren, Washington, Wayne, White, Whiteside, Will, Williamson, Winnebago and Woodford.

Or you can also request a free commercial insurance quote for IL cities: Addison, Algonquin, Alton, Arlington Heights, Aurora, Bartlett, Batavia, Belleville, Belvidere, Berwyn, Bloomingdale, Bloomington, Blue Island, Bolingbrook, Buffalo Grove, Burbank, Calumet, Carbondale, Carol Stream, Carpentersville, Champaign, Charleston, Chicago, Chicago Heights, Cicero town, Collinsville, Crest Hill, Crystal Lake, Danville, Darien, DeKalb, Decatur, Des Plaines, Dolton, Downers Grove, East Moline, East Peoria, East St. Louis, Edwardsville, Elgin, Elk Grove, Elmhurst, Elmwood Park, Evanston, Freeport, Galesburg, Geneva, Glen Ellyn, Glendale Heights, Glenview, Granite, Grayslake, Gurnee, Hanover Park, Harvey, Highland Park, Hoffman Estates, Homer Glen, Huntley, Joliet, Kankakee, Lake in the Hills, Lansing, Libertyville, Lisle, Lockport, Lombard, Loves Park, Machesney Park, Maywood, McHenry, Melrose Park, Moline, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Mundelein, Naperville, New Lenox, Niles, Normal town, North Chicago, Northbrook, O'Fallon, Oak Forest, Oak Lawn, Oak Park, Orland Park, Oswego, Palatine, Park Forest, Park Ridge, Pekin, Peoria, Plainfield, Quincy, Rock Island, Rockford, Rolling Meadows, Romeoville, Roselle, Round Lake Beach, Schaumburg, Skokie, South Elgin, South Holland, Springfield, St. Charles, Streamwood, Tinley Park, Urbana, Vernon Hills, Villa Park, Waukegan, West Chicago, Westmont, Wheaton, Wheeling, Wilmette, Woodridge, Woodstock, Zion and all other IL cities & Illinois counties near me in The Prairie State.

Also find IL local small businesses by General Liability Class Code and learn about Illinois small business insurance requirements for general liability, business property, commercial auto & workers compensation including IL business insurance costs. Call us (312) 300-7929.