Nebraska Commercial Insurance Information By City

Or call for your free quote:

Get the best NE small business insurance quotes online & info on cost, coverage, minimum requirements, certificates & more.

Commercial Insurance Information In NE

Nebraska Commercial Insurance Information

Are you looking for commercial insurance information in Nebraska?

Business insurance requirements vary both by state, and cities and that state. For example - workers compensation is virtually required in every state, but there are different rules on what constitutes and employee, and how many employees are needed to mandate coverage.

Also Nebraska cities and municipalities might require specific coverages to do business in their jurisdiction. Below you will find every city in NE that you can use to start researching the business insurance policies, endorsements and limits that may be required.

Looking for Nebraska commercial insurance information? Find small business insurance info - including costs, coverages and requirements - from every city in NE.

Where Can I Find Commercial Insurance Information For Cities In Nebraska?

Finding NE business insurance information by city is simple - just by searching our Nebraska Directory of Cities - you can find the commercial insurance policy information you are looking for - including costs, coverages, minimum requirements and more.

Nebraska Commercial Insurance Information Results By City:

Nebraska - Small Business Insurance Information By City

How Are Nebraska State, County And Municipal Governments Organized?


The entire area of the state of Nebraska is encompassed by county governments. The county governing body is called the board of commissioners, except in counties where voters have elected to have their county under township organization, in which case the governing body is called a board of supervisors.

Municipal Governments

Municipal governments in Nebraska include cities, villages, and municipal counties. Township governments exist in some counties. In such counties, all villages and some, but not all, cities exist within the township areas.

The state constitution grants cities with a population of more than 5,000 inhabitants the authority to write their own charter.

City municipal governments are divided into the following four classes according to population size:

  • Metropolitan-300,000 inhabitants or more.
  • Primary-100,001 to 299,999 inhabitants.
  • First class-5,001 to 100,000 inhabitants.
  • Second class-801 to 5,000 inhabitants.

Villages are municipal governments with 100 to 800 inhabitants. The minimum population required for incorporation is 100. Second-class cities may elect to return to the village class.

Most cities have an elected mayor-council form of government; however, cities may adopt a commissioner or city manager plan. Villages are governed by an elected board of trustees.

In 2001, Nebraska law enabled one or more counties and at least one municipality in each participating county to merge and form a municipal county to combine services. Municipal counties may be created on joint resolution by participating governing bodies or on petition of voters after a hearing and referendum.

Municipal counties are governed by an elected council. The creating resolution may state if any elected offices are to be retained following the merger; otherwise, all municipal and county offices are abolished after approval and completion of the office current terms. As of June 30, 2017, there were no municipal county governments in Nebraska.

Township Governments

Township governments exist in 25 of the 93 counties. Within these 25 counties, township governments do not cover the entire area of the counties: some cities, but not all, exist outside the area of any township.

Three elected officials-the assessor, the chairperson of the board, and the treasurer-compose the township board.

Find more information on the state of Nebraska website.

Note: Some of this info was provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration and the U.S. Census Bureau.

How Do I Contact The Nebraska Insurance Commissioner?

941 O Street, Terminal Building, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508-3639
Phone: (402) 471-2201


Request a free Nebraska small business insurance quote, or in these other NE cities: Ainsworth, Albion, Alliance, Alma, Arlington, Ashland, Atkinson, Auburn, Aurora, Battle Creek, Beatrice, Bellevue, Bennington, Blair, Broken Bow, Burwell, Central City, Chadron, Chalco, Columbus, Cozad, Crete, Dakota City, David City, Fairbury, Falls City, Fremont, Fullerton, Geneva, Gering, Gibbon, Gordon, Gothenburg, Grand Island, Grant, Gretna, Hartington and Bridgeport, Hastings, Hebron, Hickman, Holdrege, Imperial, Kearney, Kimball, La Vista, Lexington, Lincoln, Louisville, Madison, McCook, Milford, Minden, Mitchell, Nebraska City, Neligh, Norfolk, North Bend, North Platte, O'Neill, Oakland, Offutt AFB, Ogallala, Omaha, Ord, Papillion, Pierce, Plainview, Plattsmouth, Ralston, Ravenna, Schuyler, Scottsbluff, Seward, Sidney, South Sioux City, Springfield, St. Paul, Stanton, Stromsburg, Superior, Sutherland, Sutton, Syracuse, Tecumseh, Tekamah, Terrytown, Valentine, Valley, Wahoo, Wakefield, Waverly, Wayne, West Point, Wilber, Wisner, Wood River, Woodland Park, Wymore, York, Yutan and all other NE cities & Nebraska counties near me in The Cornhusker State.

Also find NE local small businesses by General Liability Class Code and learn about Nebraska small business insurance requirements for general liability, business property, commercial auto & workers compensation including NE business insurance costs. Call us (402) 235-4795.

Free Business Insurance Quote Click Here