Connecticut Commercial Insurance Information By City

Or call for your free quote:

Get the best CT small business insurance quotes online & info on cost, coverage, minimum requirements, certificates & more.

Commercial Insurance Information In CT

Connecticut Commercial Insurance Information

Are you looking for commercial insurance information in Connecticut?

Business insurance requirements vary both by state, and cities and that state. For example - workers compensation is virtually required in every state, but there are different rules on what constitutes and employee, and how many employees are needed to mandate coverage.

Also Connecticut cities and municipalities might require specific coverages to do business in their jurisdiction. Below you will find every city in CT that you can use to start researching the business insurance policies, endorsements and limits that may be required.

Looking for Connecticut commercial insurance information? Find small business insurance info - including costs, coverages and requirements - from every city in CT.

Where Can I Find Commercial Insurance Information For Cities In Connecticut?

Finding CT business insurance information by city is simple - just by searching our Connecticut Directory of Cities - you can find the commercial insurance policy information you are looking for - including costs, coverages, minimum requirements and more.

Connecticut Commercial Insurance Information Results By City:

Connecticut - Small Business Insurance Information By City

How Are Connecticut State, County And Municipal Governments Organized?


Effective October 1, 1960, Connecticut county government was abolished and county functions were transferred to the state government. However, the former county boundaries were retained for election of county sheriffs and for judicial purposes. Thus, Connecticut counties are not counted as governments in U.S. Census Bureau statistics.


The subcounty general purpose governments in Connecticut consist of municipal (city and borough) governments and town governments. These two types of governments are distinguished primarily by the historical circumstances surrounding their incorporation.

In Connecticut, city, borough, and town governments have similar powers and perform similar functions. Towns, which are treated as municipalities in Connecticut statutes, are counted as a separate type of local government in Census Bureau statistics on governments.

The State Constitution authorizes cities, boroughs, towns, consolidated towns and cities, or consolidated towns and boroughs to adopt home rule charters. All subcounty governments in Connecticut are governed by a chief executive officer and a legislative body.

The adopted charter must include the number and method of selection of the legislative body and the powers and duties of both the chief executive officer and the legislative body. A legislative body may be a town meeting, a representative town meeting, a board of selectmen, council, board of directors, board of aldermen, or a board of burgesses, or may be a combination of a town meeting or representative town meeting and one of these legislative bodies.

A chief executive officer may be the first selectman, a chief administrative officer appointed by the board of selectmen, an elected mayor, an elected warden, a town, city, or borough manager appointed by the subcounty legislative body, or a chief administrative officer appointed by the mayor.

Municipal Governments

The term "municipality," as defined for Census Bureau statistics on governments, applies only to the boroughs and cities in Connecticut.

Cities are located within town areas. The city of Groton is located within a town area but exists separately and is counted as a separate municipal government. For the other 19 cities, the city and town government have been consolidated.

Each is counted once in Census Bureau statistics on governments as a municipal government and not as a town government.

Boroughs are also located within town areas. Most boroughs exist separately from the overlying town government and are counted as separate municipal governments. The borough of Naugatuck is consolidated with the overlying town government and is counted only once as a borough government.

The borough of Woodmont, located within the overlying city (city-town consolidation) of Milford, exists separately, and also is counted only as a borough government.

Town or Township Governments

The entire area of the state is encompassed by town areas. These are counted as town governments in Census Bureau statistics, except for areas in which a town is consolidated with a city or borough government. Towns in Connecticut provide the services that are associated with counties and municipalities in most states.

Find more information on the state of Connecticut website.

Note: Some of this info was provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration and the U.S. Census Bureau.

How Do I Contact The Connecticut Insurance Commissioner?

P.O. Box 816
Hartford, CT 06142-0816
Phone: (860) 297-3900


Request a free Connecticut small business insurance quote, or in these other CT cities: Ansonia, Avon, Berlin, Bethel, Bloomfield, Branford, Bridgeport, Bristol, Brookfield, Burlington, Canton, Cheshire, Clinton, Colchester, Coventry, Cromwell, Danbury, Darien, Derby, East Hampton, East Hartford, East Haven, East Lyme, Ellington, Enfield, Fairfield, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby and East Windsor, Greenwich, Griswold, Groton, Guilford, Hamden, Hartford, Killingly, Ledyard, Madison, Manchester, Mansfield, Meriden, Middletown, Milford, Milford city, Monroe, Montville, Naugatuck, New Britain, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Haven, New London, New Milford, Newington, Newtown, North Branford, North Haven, Norwalk, Norwich, Old Saybrook, Orange, Oxford, Plainfield, Plainville, Plymouth, Prospect, Ridgefield, Rocky Hill, Seymour, Shelton, Simsbury, Somers, South Windsor, Southbury, Southington, Stafford, Stamford, Stonington, Stratford, Suffield, Tolland, Torrington, Trumbull, Vernon, Wallingford, Waterbury, Waterford, Watertown, West Hartford, West Haven, Weston, Westport, Wethersfield, Wilton, Winchester, Windham, Windsor, Windsor Locks, Wolcott, Woodbury and all other CT cities & Connecticut counties near me in The Constitution State.

Also find CT local small businesses by General Liability Class Code and learn about Connecticut small business insurance requirements for general liability, business property, commercial auto & workers compensation including CT business insurance costs. Call us (860) 900-0799.

Free Business Insurance Quote Click Here