Missouri Commercial Insurance Information By City

Or call for your free quote:

Get the best MO small business insurance quotes online & info on cost, coverage, minimum requirements, certificates & more.

Commercial Insurance Information In MO

Missouri Commercial Insurance Information

Are you looking for commercial insurance information in Missouri?

Business insurance requirements vary both by state, and cities and that state. For example - workers compensation is virtually required in every state, but there are different rules on what constitutes and employee, and how many employees are needed to mandate coverage.

Also Missouri cities and municipalities might require specific coverages to do business in their jurisdiction. Below you will find every city in MO that you can use to start researching the business insurance policies, endorsements and limits that may be required.

Looking for Missouri commercial insurance information? Find small business insurance info - including costs, coverages and requirements - from every city in MO.

Where Can I Find Commercial Insurance Information For Cities In Missouri?

Finding MO business insurance information by city is simple - just by searching our Missouri Directory of Cities - you can find the commercial insurance policy information you are looking for - including costs, coverages, minimum requirements and more.

Missouri Commercial Insurance Information Results By City:

Missouri - Small Business Insurance Information By City

How Are Missouri State, County And Municipal Governments Organized?


The entire area of the state of Missouri is encompassed by county governments with the exception of the city of St. Louis, which is an independent city outside the area of any county, and is counted in U.S. Census Bureau statistics as a municipal, rather than a county, government. St. Louis County is a county government but excludes the area of the city of St. Louis.

A county commission governs each noncharter county. The county governing body is called the county commission with several exceptions: in St. Louis County, the 1968 charter provides for an elected county supervisor and county council; in Jackson County, the 1973 charter provides for an elected county executive and county legislature; and two additional charters-in Jefferson County the 2008 charter and in St. Charles county the 1992 charter-provide for an elected county executive and county council.

Counties are generally divided into four classes on the basis of their total assessed valuation, as follows:

  • Classification 1-$900,000,000 or more.
  • Classification 2-at least $600,000 but less than $900,000,000.
  • Classification 3-less than $600,000,000, except for five classification 4 counties.
  • Classification 4-counties that had attained classification 2 prior to August 13, 1988, and would otherwise revert to classification 3 because of changes in assessed valuation.

Any classification 2 county with an assessed value of more than $600,000,000 for more than 1 year may become a classification 1 county upon adoption of a resolution by the county governing body.

Any county having maintained classification 1 status for at least 2 years and with a population of at least 85,000 may adopt its own charter.


The subcounty general purpose governments consist of the municipal (city, town, and village) governments and the township governments.

Municipal Governments

Municipal governments in Missouri are cities, towns, and villages. All municipalities in Missouri exist within township areas except for the city of St. Louis.

In Barton County, the city of Lamar is coterminous with the township City Township; however, the city and the township are each counted as separate governments in Census Bureau statistics since each has distinct functions. The cities and towns in Missouri are divided into the following classes, based on their populations at the time of incorporation:

  • Constitutional charter-cities having 5,000 or more inhabitants and cities with charters granted prior to 1875 may adopt charters.
  • Third class-3,000 or more inhabitants.
  • Fourth class-500 to 2,999 inhabitants.

In addition, some cities operate under special charters enacted prior to the adoption of the Constitution of 1875. Changes in classification are not automatic; the municipal government must elect to be reclassified. Towns created by special law and having fewer than 500 inhabitants and villages having more than 200 inhabitants may become cities of the fourth class. There is no minimum population requirement for incorporation as a village.

Township Governments

Counties of the third and fourth classes may have township governments upon petition of voters and after a referendum. For these counties, the entire area of the county is encompassed by township governments.

Townships in the other Missouri counties are geographical areas only and are not counted as separate governments in Census Bureau statistics.

Find more information on the state of Missouri website.

Note: Some of this info was provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration and the U.S. Census Bureau.

How Do I Contact The Missouri Insurance Commissioner?

301 West High Street, P.O. Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690
Phone: (573) 751-4126

Web: https://insurance.mo.gov/

Request a free Missouri small business insurance quote, or in these other MO cities: Affton, Arnold, Ballwin, Bellefontaine Neighbors, Belton, Berkeley, Blue Springs, Bolivar, Boonville, Branson, Bridgeton, Cameron, Cape Girardeau, Carthage, Chesterfield, Chillicothe, Clayton, Clinton, Columbia, Concord, Crestwood, Creve Coeur, Dardenne Prairie, Des Peres, Ellisville, Eureka, Excelsior Springs, Farmington, Ferguson, Festus, Florissant, Fort Leonard Wood, Fulton, Gladstone, Grain Valley, Grandview, Hannibal, Harrisonville, Hazelwood, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson City, Jennings, Joplin, Kansas City, Kearney, Kennett, Kirksville, Kirkwood, Ladue, Lake St. Louis, Lebanon, Lee's Summit, Lemay, Liberty, Manchester, Marshall, Maryland Heights, Maryville, Mehlville, Mexico, Moberly, Monett, Neosho, Nixa, O'Fallon, Oakville, Old Jamestown, Overland, Ozark, Park Hills, Perryville, Poplar Bluff, Raymore, Raytown, Republic, Richmond Heights, Rolla, Sedalia, Sikeston, Smithville, Spanish Lake, Springfield, St. Ann, St. Charles, St. Joseph, St. Louis, St. Peters, Sunset Hills, Town and Country, Troy, Union, University City, Warrensburg, Washington, Webb City, Webster Groves, Wentzville, West Plains, Wildwood and all other MO cities & Missouri counties near me in The Show-Me State.

Also find MO local small businesses by General Liability Class Code and learn about Missouri small business insurance requirements for general liability, business property, commercial auto & workers compensation including MO business insurance costs. Call us (314) 499-6799.

Free Business Insurance Quote Click Here